Posted by: John Hall | December 22, 2007

Girls

 dscn1065.jpg

I was driving my daughter home from school the other day and out of the blue she comes up with a zinger.  “Daddy”, she said, “how did God know you preferred girls.”  Note – not a question about whether I preferred girls.  I laughed at the time, and then later I thought, you know she’s got a point.  I could have had boys, but I’ve got girls and I’ve always been content.  I haven’t ever wondered, “When is the boy coming.”  What this five year old was expressing was an innate understanding of the heart of God.  Only a loving God could know me and see that my girls would bring me a joy that is so complete I’ve never thought about not having a boy.  She expressed a trust in God that I feel that I have only just begun to walk in myself.  Our five year old knows she has a loving God.  Do we?

Responses

  1. John, they know they have a loving God because your father’s heart models that to them. You are an inspiration to all who know you, most of all to your precious girls.

    Love,
    Sylvia

  2. Mom and I have talked about having all boys and thought that you were all just what we needed. I am very proud of you all with your differences and uniqueness. It is wonderful that when boys marry all of a sudden you have a bunch of “belle filles” as the French say, and which I like better than the English term. Then along come the grand daughters and it brings a totally different experience of children. Someimes I can’t quite get my head around it.

    Love to you all,
    Dad


Leave a Reply

Categories

