Posted by: John Hall | February 4, 2009

Law and Freedom

Psalm 19:12 “Who can discern his errors?”

One of the best things about knowing God is coming to the realization that he knows me.  It gives me a better perspective on the relationship between law and sin.  He sees everything, every transgression of his law and is, amazingly, still patient with me and loving with me.  I’m much less patient with myself and in the past I have to admit that I’ve let the guilt of my failing push me away from God, but I seee now that it should do the opposite and draw us to him.  I see now that I don’t have to go on a witch hunt or flog myself looking for hidden sins, that’s not his way.  In his time, if I keep an open heart, he brings things up, and if I choose, he removes my sin at his expense.  That kind of freedom helps me understand the psalmists thankfulness and willing submission to God.  I agree with the Psalmist, “The law of the Lord is perfect reviving the soul.” (Ps 19:7)

Leave a Reply

Categories

